black_and_white_shot_of_girls_back
Credit: Murray Mitchell

My heart was so large I could fit the entire world in it

and then they told me to cut that in half

because no one can love that many

So I did.

And when my heart was half as full as before

they told me it was still too much

So I halved it again.

But it was still too much and so I cut out a few more people

and more

and more

and more until my heart was empty,

save for the echoes of the love I’d once had.

And when I finished, they wondered

why I had turned so cold.

 

Leave a Reply

